Dr. Anita M. Pampusch

Printer-friendly version

Program Information

For Nonprofits
MTAP Project Application
MTAP Project Expectations - Nonprofit (PDF, 17 KB)
MTAP Project Evaluation
MTAP Overview Presentation (PDF, 281 KB)
MTAP Conference & Symposium Highlights

For Students
MTAP Student Consultant Application
MTAP Project Expectations - Student (PDF, 17 KB)
MTAP Student Evaluation
Spring '13 Student Presentation (PDF, 167 KB)

Spring '13 Student Announcement (PDF, 15 KB)

Are you a 501(c)3 community-based nonprofit organization located in the Twin Cities metro area? If so, click the Nonprofit Agency Form to be added.

Nonprofit Agency Profiles

Contact Information
Name: Nedy Windham
Phone #: (612) 625-2053
Email: windh003@umn.edu

Dr. Anita M. Pampusch, President

Bush Foundation

Dr. Anita M. Pampusch is the President of Bush Foundation. Dr. Anita M. Pampusch became the second president of the Bush Foundation in 1997. The second largest private foundation in Minnesota with approximately $650 million in assets, the Bush Foundation grants about $35 million annually to education, arts and humanities, and human service organizations in Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota. Dr. Pampusch holds masters and doctoral degrees in philosophy from the University of Notre Dame.

From 1970-1997 she served in several capacities at the College of St. Catherine (St. Paul, Minnesota) including thirteen years as its president. During her tenure at Saint Catherine, she was instrumental in acquiring a second campus in Minneapolis and in developing a number of new programs.

Career History:

  • President, Bush Foundation, 1997-Present.
  • President, College of St. Catherine, 1984-97.
  • Academic Dean and Vice President, College of St. Catherine, 1979-84.
  • Associate Dean, College of St. Catherine, 1977-79.
  • Philosophy Professor, College of St. Catherine, 1970-76.
  • Math/Science Teacher, St. Joseph's Academy, 1962-66.

Academic Recognition:

  • American Council on Education Fellowship in Academic Administration, 1976-77.
  • National Science Foundation Traineeship, 1966-70.
  • National Endowment for the Humanities, Summer Stipend, 1972.
  • Member, St. Edmund's House (now College), Cambridge, England, 1969.
  • Institute in Educational Management, Harvard University, 1983.

National Professional Activities:

  • Council of Independent Colleges, Board, 1987-97; 2000-Present; Executive Committee, 1987-96; Chair, 1991-94.
  • Women's College Coalition, Executive Committee, 1985-92; Chair, 1988-91.
  • Bishops and President's Committee, Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities, 1989-95.
  • American Council on Education, Board Member, 1988-90; 1992-95.
  • Association of American Colleges and Universities, Board Member, 1996-97.
  • University of Notre Dame, Trustee, 1997-Present.
  • Rhodes College Consultation on Church-Related Colleges, senior advisor, 1997-Present.

Local/Regional Professional Activities:

  • St. Paul Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985-91; 1995-97; Co-Chair, Higher Education Leadership Group.
  • Rhodes Scholarship Committee, chair of North Central District, 1989-94, 1999.
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, Advisory Committee, 1992-97.
  • Member, Governor's Glass Ceiling Task Force, State of Minnesota, 1995.
  • Member, Governor's State Capitol 2005 Commission, State of Minnesota, 2001-Present.
  • Director, The Saint Paul Companies, 1985-2001.
  • Current Boards: Minnesota Meeting, William Mitchell College of Law, Northstar Educational Corporation, Alliss Foundation.

Recent Activities and Awards:

  • Institutional Leadership Project, National Center for Postsecondary Governance and Finance, Columbia Teacher's College, NY, advisory committee.
  • National Science Foundation, Project Kaleidoscope, advisory committee.
  • Outstanding Achievement in Education, leadership award, St. Paul YWCA, 1987.
  • Award of the Year: Minnesota chapter of Notre Dame Alumni Association, 1990.
  • $100,000 Knight Foundation award for Presidential Leadership, 1991.
  • Honorary Degrees: Doctor of Humane Letters (St. Mary's College, Omaha, NE [1990]; Concordia College, Moorhead, MN [1997]; Our Lady of Elms College, Chicopee, MA [1997]; Macalester College, St. Paul, MN [1999]). Doctor of Laws (Bennett College, Greensboro, NC [2001]).