GLBTA Leadership Awards

GLBTA Leadership Awards


  • Recognizing the achievements of students, employees, alumni, or community partners across the U of M system
  • Any person or organization from any U of M campus may be nominated
  • Must exemplify outstanding leadership either within campus GLBTA communities or within other communities, empowering and inspiring others to work for positive change on our campuses.


  • Early-to-Mid April - Annual deadline for applications
  • Late April - If chosen, recipients will receive the Breaking The Silence Award at the annual Lavender Celebration & Awards Ceremony
  • Questions can be directed to & application materials may be sent to:  GLBTA Programs Office / 46 Appleby Hall / 128 Pleasant St SE / Minneapolis, MN  55455

Past Recipients:

2012 - Steve Carnes / Dr. Sehoya Cotner / Anitra Cottledge / e.shor / Emily Ehrling (U of M St. Paul) / George Anne Meyers-Welsch (U of M Morris)

2011 - Sara Axtell / Brett Chin / MJ Gilbert / Remy Huerta (U of M Morris) / Mykee Schinderling / Kjensmo Walker 

2010 - Karin Anderson / Ben Falter / Cortez Riley / Val Smith

2009 - Natalie Klueg (U of M Duluth) 

2008 - Beng Chang / Genny Clute / Elysa Hays