Office for Equity and Diversity Vice President Search

Photo of a group of students from the Multicultural Center for Academic Excellence walking on campus


The University of Minnesota seeks a Vice President for Equity and Diversity to partner with the University’s stakeholders as it seeks to build on its diversity, equity, and inclusion goals outlined in MPact 2025, the University's strategic plan. 

The VP for Equity and Diversity is a member of the University's senior leadership and leads the Office for Equity and Diversity (OED). OED works with colleges, units, and departments across our five-campus system to create an inclusive environment where all members of the University of Minnesota community can thrive. OED is comprised of seven offices and seven major initiatives with approximately 120 staff members that provide critical services and support to students, faculty, and staff. Our office provides consultation, educational resources, student scholarships, and guidance to leadership – including the newly established Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Collective – and departments systemwide. Additionally, OED offers financial support to affinity groups that aim to make the University of Minnesota a more welcoming and inclusive place to work and learn.

Feedback about the position and the search process is welcome. Please provide your comments and suggestions to the search committee.

Vice President for Equity and Diversity Search Committee

Karen Diver, Senior Advisor to the President for Native American Affairs, Co-Chair
Ken Horstman, Vice President for Human Resources, Co-Chair
Cori Bazemore-James, Assistant Vice Provost, Graduate School Diversity Office, Graduate School
UJ Bhowmik, Professional Student, Law School, President of Professional Student Government (PSG)
Carlos Carranza-Torres, Professor, Swenson College of Science & Engineering, UM-Duluth
Steve Davis, Jr., Associate Vice President of Engagement, University of Minnesota Alumni Association
Savala DeVoge, Dean of Student Engagement and Wellness, UM-Crookston
Javier Gutierrez, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Success, Engagement, and Equity, UMR
Marissa Hill-Dongre, Assistant Director, International Student and Scholars Services (UMTC) and Director of the Immigration Response Team, Global Program Strategy Alliance
Amina Jaafar, Chief Inclusion and Strategy Officer, Twin Cities Public Television (TPT)
Abdulaziz Mohamed, Undergraduate Student, College of Liberal Arts, and President of the Minnesota Student Association (MSA)
Peh Ng, Acting Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean, UM-Morris
Ana Nunez, Vice Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Medical School
Barbara Peterson, Clinical Associate Professor, School of Nursing, and Chair of the Senate Committee on Equity and Diversity
Calvin Phillips, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Keisha Varma, Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Development, Office for Equity and Diversity
Dylan Young, Undergraduate Student, Division of Social Sciences, UM-Morris, and Member of Student Senate Consultative Committee (SSCC)