University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Celebrating Changemakers

The Celebrating Changemakers program (formerly Celebrating University Women Awards Program) is held each fall to honor the recipients of Women’s Center-affiliated awards, grants and scholarships

Soua Thao and Johanna Heegeman, 2015 recipients of the Sharon Doherty Student Leadership Award

Celebrating University Women 2017

Celebrating University Women Awards Program
Thursday, October 19, 2017
4:00 - 6:00 p.m. (Program begins at 4:30 p.m.)
Johnson Great Room, McNamara Alumni Center

Join the Women's Center, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, and the Office for Equity and Diversity in honoring outstanding University scholars and changemakers! This annual event honors the recipients of Women's Center-affiliated scholarships, grants, and awards with a short program and a dessert reception. The program will begin at 4:30 p.m.

Past Speakers and Topics

2016: "Reclaiming Joy: What is the Role of Joy in Activism?" - Jennifer Ernie-Steighner, independent feminist scholar
2015: "Engaged and Empowered: How Ordinary Women Lead in Extraordinary Ways" - Katrice Albert, Ph.D., Vice President, Office for Equity and Diversity 
2014: "Celebrating the (S)heroes of Our Own Stories" - Sasanehsaeh Pyawasay, Diversity Program Coordinator, College of Science and Engineering
2013: "From Fear to Fearless"-Katie Eichele, Director, Aurora Center for Advocacy & Education 
2012: "Dare to Be Powerful" - Jessica Diaz, B.A. Candidate, Dept. of Anthropology & Michaela McLaughlin, Ph.D. Candidate, Dept. of Educational Psychology
2011: "Turning to One Another" - Laura Bloomberg, Ph.D., Director, Center for Integrative Leadership
2010: "Chaos, Connectedness and Community: A Woman’s Journey" - Linda L. Halcón, Ph.D., MPH, RN, Associate Professor, School of Nursing
2009: “A Woman: A Warrior” - Sudha Shetty, J.D., Director, International Fellowship Program, Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs
2008: “Storms and Silences From the Four Winds: Women’s Wisdom” - Margaret Moss, J.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Nursing
2007: “Honoring the Stories and Strengths of Women” - Nancy (Rusty) Barceló, Vice President and Vice Provost for Equity and Diversity