University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota


The Women’s Center invites nominations for the following awards which honor and support University of Minnesota faculty, staff, and students. Awards are presented annually at the Celebrating Changemakers (formerly Celebrating University Women) event hosted by the Women’s Center, with the exception of the Tapestry Award, which is presented at the University Women of Color Annual Breakfast. Learn more about past award recipients

Please note that the Civil Service and Bargaining Unit Leadership Award and the Professional & Administrative Leadership Award  will no longer be awarded. For funding focused on CS/BU and P & A women, see Gender Equity Grants.

Lastly, also consider reviewing your eligibility and applying for other University of Minnesota awards and honors.

Ada Comstock Distinguished Women Scholars Award

This prestigious award has been established to acknowledge and honor the scholarly accomplishments of distinguished women faculty at the University of Minnesota and to offer a forum for them to share their insights and ideas with a campus and community audience. One scholar from the sciences or engineering and one scholar from the humanities, arts, or social sciences will be selected to present a lecture on alternating years. Nomination deadline: 4:30 p.m., first Friday in June.

Charlotte Striebel Equity Award

This award was established to honor Charlotte Striebel (1929-2014), Mathematics professor-teacher-friend-feminist-scholar-mentor, and further her own passionate work for women's equity in salary, hiring and promotion.  This award recognizes contributions from faculty and staff of any gender who promote access for the common good, help undo bias and discrimination, or build capacity for diverse and equitable campus communities. Award amount: $1000. Nomination deadline: 4:30 p.m., first Friday in June.

Mullen/Spector/Truax Women’s Leadership Award

The Mullen/Spector/Truax Women’s Leadership Award is given annually to a faculty or staff woman at the University who has made outstanding contributions to women’s leadership development. This award honors women, not only for their own leadership qualities, but also for their efforts to develop leadership within others. Nomination deadline: 4:30 p.m., first Friday in June.

Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award

The Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award recognizes women faculty at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities who have achieved significant national and international accomplishments and honors and who contribute as leaders on campus.  In addition to supporting outstanding women scholars, this award also reflects the university’s strong commitment to future leaders. Nomination deadline: 4:30 p.m., first Friday in June.

Sharon L. Doherty Student Leadership Award

The Sharon L. Doherty Student Leadership Award is given to a University of Minnesota student who has demonstrated outstanding volunteer service concerning women's issues on campus or in the broader community. Nomination deadline: 4:30 p.m., first Friday in June.

University Women of Color Tapestry Award

The Tapestry Award is granted to those who help create a thriving campus community where diversity in the widest sense is welcomed and supported. Presented by University Indigenous Women and Women of Color (UIWWOC). This award is on hold until further notice.