University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar / Leader Award


The Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award recognizes women faculty at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities who have achieved significant national and international accomplishments and honors and who contribute as leaders on campus.  In addition to supporting outstanding women scholars, this award also reflects the university’s strong commitment to future leaders. This award is sponsored by the Office for Faculty & Academic Affairs and the Women’s Center.


This award is limited to women faculty who are newly promoted to the rank of professor (with no more than five years since promotion) employed at the University of Minnesota for at least two years.  McKnight Distinguished professors are not eligible for this award.

Selection Criteria

  • Documented evidence of exemplary research/creative accomplishments and the impact of the faculty member’s work on her discipline, as evaluated by peers and experts in her field.
  • Indication of/ or promise for campus leadership.


The award winner will receive one-time award of $5000 to support research.  Two awards will be offered per year, one in science and engineering and one in humanities, arts and social sciences, although the Selection Committee reserves the right to not select a recipient in a given year.  The award will be presented at the annual Celebrating University Women Awards event.

Nomination Process

  • Nomination materials must be received by 4:30 p.m., second Friday in March.
  • A completed nomination includes:
    • A nominator narrative that addresses the criteria above.
    • Two letters of support, one from an internal reviewer at the University of Minnesota and one from a reviewer external to the University.
    • Nominee’s curriculum vitae.
  • E-mail Nominations to: to Chris Bremer, Coordinator of Faculty Awards, at Subject: Sara Evans Women Scholar/Leader Award Selection Committee.

About Sara Evans

This award is named after Sara Evans, an outstanding scholar and pioneer in her field of history, as well as a campus leader in multiple venues, including leadership for women’s equity and social justice. Professor Evan’s research focused on the history of feminism as a social movement, motivated by her own involvement in civil rights, anti-war, and women’s rights activism. Named a Regents Professor in 2004 and Distinguished McKnight University Professor in 1997, Professor Evans served as Chair of the Department of History and Director of the Center for Advanced Feminist Studies during her tenure at the University of Minnesota. Quoted in 2005 as she was retiring, Sara remarked, "You need to learn the joy of asking a good question and finding out ways to the answer - that will lead you to your life's work."

Questions/Information: Office for Faculty and Academic Affairs, 612.626.9545 or Women’s Center, Office for Equity and Diversity, 612.625.6039.