Sexual Misconduct Hearing Committee and Hearing Panels

Hearing panel composition 

Each hearing panel includes a hearing chair and four panel members. The four panel members are University members who have volunteered and been trained for the role. In each case, at least one panel member is of the same University classification (i.e., faculty, staff, or student) as the complainant, and at least one panel member is of the same University classification as the respondent.  Panel chairs are selected for their relevant expertise in the field, are trained, and may be compensated for their service.

Selection of hearing panelists  

Faculty, staff (including civil service, bargaining unit, and professional and administrative employees), and students from all five University campuses serve as panelists on the SMHC. Panelists serve a two- to three-year term (depending on their role on the Committee) and are recruited annually via an application process.

Questions about the SMHC  

For questions about the SMHC, please contact the SMHC Coordinator, Britt Anderson, at [email protected]. The SMHC Coordinator serves as the primary point of contact on post-investigation procedures for parties, panelists, University decision-makers, and others.


SMHC members are trained annually on issues related to prohibited conduct and on how to conduct a grievance process that protects the safety of complainants and promotes accountability.

Among other things, SMHC members receive training on:

  • the definitions of sexual harassment, sexual assault, stalking, and relationship violence;
  • the scope of the University’s education programs and activities;
  • how to conduct a hearing;
  • how to serve impartially, including by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of interest, and bias;
  • technology to be used at a live hearing, where applicable; and,
  • relevance of questions and evidence, including when questions and evidence about the complainant’s sexual predisposition or prior sexual behavior are not relevant.

Title IX-related training materials can be found here.

Governing Policies

Current Members

Janet Evans, Hearing Officer
Marcia Harris, Hearing Officer
Sara Gurwitch, Hearing Officer
Amanda Porter, Hearing Officer
Gessner Rivas, Hearing Officer
Craig Roen, Hearing Officer
Evan Tsai, Hearing Officer
Niel Willardson, Hearing Officer
Mitch Zamoff, Hearing Officer
Lacey Anderson, Faculty
Chan Lan Chun, Faculty
Jennifer Goodnough, Faculty
Sarah Hoffman, Faculty
Jess Larson, Faculty
Michael Madden, Faculty
Traci Mann, Faculty
Kristen Mark, Faculty
Liza Meredith, Faculty
Mercedes Porter, Faculty
Matthias Rothe, Faculty
Jared Strasburg, Faculty
Matt Simcik, Faculty
Amy Sweasy Tamburino, Faculty
Sylia Wilson, Faculty
Lauri Wyum, Faculty
Joseph Alf, Staff
Bridget Apitz, Staff
Michelle Beeghly, Staff
Hal DeLaRosby, Staff
Eric Gorecki, Staff
Lindsy Gornick, Staff
Mattie Hawley, Staff
Emily Krekelberg, Staff
James Larson, Staff
Jules Lehto, Staff
Pamela Merzwski, Staff
Ian Moore, Staff
Jarice Sherman, Staff
Sarah Wojnicki Smith, Staff
Carrie Sutherland, Staff
Kelsee Vogt, Staff
Evelyn Vocu, Staff
Maimuna Aden, Student
Breleigh Bauer, Student
Kasey Bellegarde, Student
Stevan Blauert, Student
Wesley Dean, Student
Edris Farhadi, Student
Patty Hall, Student
Mariam Hassan, Student
Yunqi He, Student
Audrey Hutchinson, Student
Jonathan Kim, Student
Jacob Kunkel, Student
Charlotte McDaniel, Student
Mikael Mir, Student
Dannah Nephew, Student
Torrance Nichols-Kraft, Student
Steven Nguyen, Student
Richard Roman, Student
James Roth, Student
Lori Younissess, Student